Mistake 1 - Leaving offboarded users on a full license
You can’t just delete your leaver’s data. If you do, be prepared to be stung by a massive, potentially company crippling, fine for breaching data retention rules.
Some companies deal with this issue by leaving the offboarded user on a full license, and stopping their access. Whilst you may avoid the fine and secure the data, you will soon see license costs spiral.
It may not seem like a lot at an individual level, but let’s do the math. If every leaver is replaced by a new starter, then for each role you now have two live licenses; one for the leaver and one for the joiner. With the average attrition rate in the US now up to 25%, that means your license bill is doubling every four years!
CloudM gives you two options to free up the license without losing your data.
The first is to automatically store all the data in Cloud Storage using our industry-leading Archive feature.
Alternatively, for those of you on Google Workspace, you can automatically apply a Google Archived User (AU) license to the leaver during their offboarding, which is considerably cheaper than keeping a full license, allowing you to free up the existing license for their replacement.